Now THAT’s an insight. Thank you Mr. Steinbeck.

Js

 I remember one last piece of advice given me. It was during the
exuberance of the rich and frantic ’20s, and I was going out into that
world to try and to be a writer.
      I was told, “It’s going to take a long time, and you haven’t got
any money. Maybe it would be better if you could go to Europe.”
      “Why?” I asked.
      “Because in Europe poverty is a misfortune, but in America it is
shameful. I wonder whether or not you can stand the shame of being
poor.”
– John Steinbeck

Leave a Reply

